Service Dog Laws in Michigan

dogrestinginfield

Following, you will find certain paragraphs, sections, and sub sections from the Service Dog Laws in Michigan. These laws will be paraphrased for purposes of space and in some cases rephrased for better understanding. This is by no means intended to be a legal handbook, but simply a summary of laws. In Michigan, more so than many other of the United States, there are more and harsher penalties involving the interfering with, and/or injuring of service dogs. With this, the state is more stringent on identifying the canines as service animals. In Michigan, service dog certification takes on added value when these creatures are trained by an accredited trainer as they are respected within the state for the quality of assistance they provide to disabled residents.

 ASSISTED LIVING LAWS
Section 502c of the laws set forth by the Michigan Department of Civil Rights, basically states, any person who is the owner, lessee, proprietor, manager, superintendent or agent, or their employees, cannot discriminate against a disabled person by not allowing them on public or private premises because of the presence of a service dog. These premises include, but are not limited to, inns, hotels, motels, apartment buildings, trailer parks, restaurants, stores, barbershops, places of amusement and all public and private educational institutions.

To be considered a service dog however, said animal, must be wearing a harness or blaze orange leash and collar, a hearing dog cape, or service dog backpack. Additionally the handler of the service dog must present upon request, identification proving the dog has, in fact, been trained by a professional trainer to be used as an assistance dog to a disabled individual. Needless to say, this puts the utmost importance on acquiring service dog certification as to be in compliance with the service dog laws in Michigan.

ILLEGAL INTERFERENCE LAWS
Section 50a, subsection 1 of the service dog laws in Michigan does not allow the willful malicious assault or beating of a service dog, nor can they in any way impede or interfere with the animals assistance activities. Anyone violating this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable with fines up to $500 and / or a maximum of 90 days in jail.

Once again, Michigan has high regard for accredited assistance animals and your best resource in using your dog for this purpose would be a service dog certification program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>